Skip to content
Islamic Credit Cards

South Asia

Islamic credit cards in Bangladesh

Every Shariah-compliant credit card we can verify from 23 issuers, with the contract behind each one and the fee schedule it came from.

Cards indexed

38

Issuers

23

With no annual fee

0

Currency

BDT

How the Bangladeshi market works

The market

READ structural_change_in_progress FIRST: five of the ten full-fledged Islamic banks described below were merged into the new state-owned Sammilito Islami Bank PLC with effect from 1 December 2025, so the ten-bank picture painted by Bangladesh Bank's May 2026 statistics is a snapshot of legal entities that the regulator's own resolution action has already superseded. Bangladesh has TEN full-fledged Islamic banks — more than any other country in South Asia — and its Islamic card market is correspondingly deeper than Pakistan's. Bangladesh Bank's Islamic Banking and Finance Statistics for May 2026 records ten full-fledged Islamic banks (Islami Bank Bangladesh, Al-Arafah Islami, Social Islami, Standard Bank, EXIM, First Security Islami, Shahjalal Islami, Union Bank, Global Islami, ICB Islamic) operating 1,700 branches between them; seventeen conventional banks running 49 Islamic banking BRANCHES; and twelve conventional banks running 632 Islamic banking WINDOWS. Islamic banks held 21.85% of total banking deposits in May 2026, against 78.15% for conventional banks. Total system deposits were BDT 21.97 trillion. THE STRUCTURAL POINT FOR CARDS: unlike Pakistan, where the largest Islamic banks issue no credit card at all, Bangladesh's Islamic banks DO issue true revolving credit cards — but they do so using THREE DIFFERENT AND INCOMPATIBLE COST STRUCTURES, which makes cross-shopping unusually hard. (1) A SINGLE FLAT UJRAH FEE — Islami Bank Bangladesh's Khidmah range charges a fixed 'Monthly Maintenance Fee' (Tk. 1,000 to Tk. 5,200 depending on tier) whenever any balance over Tk. 100 remains, with NO percentage rate at all; the effective cost is punitive on small balances and cheap on large ones. (2) A BANDED FLAT SLAB — Standard Islami Bank's Tijarah cards charge a 'Monthly Payable Profit Charge' drawn from a 19-band table keyed to the outstanding balance, so the cost jumps at each boundary (Tk. 400/month at a Tk. 20,000 balance, Tk. 750/month at Tk. 20,001). (3) A CONVENTIONAL-STYLE PERCENTAGE RATE — EXIM Bank charges a flat 25% per annum under Bai-Murabaha, and Social Islami Bank charges 2% monthly / 24% per annum. The system-wide investment mode mix (May 2026) is dominated by Bai-Murabaha at 43.76% and Bai-Muajjal at 17.19%, with Hire Purchase under Shirkatul Melk (HPSM) at 17.39%, Ijarah 5.22%, Mudarabah 4.81% and Qard-e-Hasan 1.95%. A SECOND STRUCTURAL POINT: nearly every Bangladeshi Islamic credit card is DUAL-CURRENCY (BDT plus USD), with fees quoted in both, reflecting the country's foreign-exchange quota regime — EXIM markets Travel Quota, RFCD and Retention Quota card variants, and Standard Islami Bank prices whole card tiers (Platinum-RFCD, Platinum-ERQ) purely in USD. A THIRD: disclosure quality is materially worse than Pakistan's. Two of the banks in this dataset publish their card Schedule of Charges as a SCANNED PHOTOGRAPH with no text layer (Islami Bank Bangladesh's Annexure-D, and Global Islami Bank's card SoC, whose only extractable string is 'CamScanner'). Several banks publish no eligibility criteria at all. Bangladesh has no equivalent of Pakistan's SBP-mandated Key Fact Statement.

Who decides what is compliant

Bangladesh Bank requires every bank conducting Islamic banking to constitute an independent Shariah Supervisory Committee (SSC). The governing instrument was BRPD Circular No. 15 of 9 November 2009, which placed responsibility for Shariah compliance of a bank's deposit and investment products on its Board of Directors and permitted the Board to form an SSC — but did not specify the SSC's size, member remuneration, tenure, appointment or removal. Bangladesh Bank replaced that gap on 28 September 2025 with IBRPD Circular No. 01, issued by the newly-created Islamic Banking Regulation and Policy Department, setting out in detail the formation of the SSC, the appointment and removal of its members, and their roles and responsibilities. Bangladesh Bank created four new head-office departments in March 2025 (BRPD Circular Letter No. 06), of which the Islamic Banking Regulation and Policy Department (IBRPD) is one — so Bangladesh now has a dedicated Islamic banking regulator department for the first time. There is NO national-level Shariah board equivalent to Malaysia's SAC or the UAE's Higher Shariah Authority; each bank's SSC is its own authority. In practice this shows in the card market: several Bangladeshi Islamic cards do not name the Shariah contract they use at all.

Rules that limit you

  • IBRPD Circular No. 01 of 28 September 2025 governs the formation, appointment and removal of Shariah Supervisory Committee members and their roles and responsibilities, for every bank-company providing Islamic banking services. It replaces the thin guidance in BRPD Circular No. 15 of 9 November 2009.
  • BRPD Circular Letter No. 06 of 13 March 2025 established four new departments at Bangladesh Bank head office, including the Islamic Banking Regulation and Policy Department (IBRPD).
  • BRPD Circular Letter No. 30 of 8 July 2024 requires online banking services to be provided to customers of Islamic banking branches and windows at conventional branches and sub-branches.
  • STD Circular No. 02 of 6 February 2022 requires all banks offering Islamic banking services to report Islamic banking data to Bangladesh Bank in a prescribed template — the basis of the monthly Islamic Banking and Finance Statistics publication.
  • DMD Circular No. 03 of 5 December 2022 sets Guidelines and Operating Procedures for the Islamic Banks Liquidity Facility (IBLF), amended by DMD Circular Letter No. 05 of 25 March 2024.

The contracts Bangladeshi banks use

The contract is the whole difference between an Islamic card and a conventional one. These are the structures in use here.

Qard Hasan + Ujrah6Ujrah13Murabahah3Wakalah3

Where to start

Lowest published rate

Social Islami Bank

SIBL Visa Islamic Credit Card (Dual)

Priority Pass for Platinum, Balaka VIP Lounge visits, and 0% instalments up to 24 months

Annual fee
Tk 1,200
Profit rate
2% /mo
Minimum income
Not published
Structure
Not stated
Mixed rewards

Full breakdown

Narrow it down

Each list applies one rule to every card on sale here and shows what passes. A filter, not a ranking.

How these lists are built

Every issuer in Bangladesh

All 38 Islamic credit cards in Bangladesh

Al-Arafah Islami Bank

La-Riba Islamic Credit Card — Gold

First year free, mid-tier carrying cost of Tk. 1,170 a month

Annual fee
Tk 2,000
Profit rate
Not published
Minimum income
Not published
Structure
Qard Hasan + Ujrah

Full breakdown

Al-Arafah Islami Bank

La-Riba Islamic Credit Card — Platinum

Complimentary Balaka and worldwide airport lounge access, for supplementary holders too

Annual fee
Tk 3,000
Profit rate
Not published
Minimum income
Not published
Structure
Qard Hasan + Ujrah

Full breakdown

Al-Arafah Islami Bank

La-Riba Islamic Credit Card — Silver

First year free, and no annual fee thereafter on 18 transactions a year

Annual fee
Tk 1,000
Profit rate
Not published
Minimum income
Not published
Structure
Qard Hasan + Ujrah

Full breakdown

Bank Asia (Islamic)

Gold Islamic Card

Entry Islamic tier at Bank Asia, dual currency

Annual fee
Not published
Profit rate
Not published
Minimum income
Not published
Structure
Ujrah

Full breakdown

Bank Asia (Islamic)

Platinum Islamic Card

Dual-currency Islamic card priced on a banded monthly maintenance fee

Annual fee
Not published
Profit rate
Not published
Minimum income
Not published
Structure
Ujrah

Full breakdown

City Bank (City Islamic)

City Islamic Blue American Express Card

Entry-tier Islamic American Express card with 0% Flexibuy instalments

Annual fee
Tk 1,250
Profit rate
Not published
Minimum income
Not published
Structure
Ujrah
Reward points

Full breakdown

City Bank (City Islamic)

City Islamic Gold American Express Card

10 MyRewards points per BDT 50 at supermarkets on the first and last weekend of each month

Annual fee
Tk 3,000
Profit rate
Not published
Minimum income
Not published
Structure
Ujrah
Reward points

Full breakdown

Dhaka Bank (Tayyebah)

Tayyebah Islamic Credit Card (Platinum)

Annual fee
Tk 3,500
Profit rate
Not published
Minimum income
Not published
Structure
Not stated

Full breakdown

Dhaka Bank (Tayyebah)

Tayyebah MasterCard Credit Card (Titanium)

Annual fee
Tk 3,500
Profit rate
Not published
Minimum income
Not published
Structure
Not stated

Full breakdown

EXIM Bank

EXIM Islamic Investment (Credit) Card — VISA Gold

45 days profit-free, plus airport Meet & Greet

Annual fee
Tk 2,000
Profit rate
25%
Minimum income
Not published
Structure
Murabahah
Reward points

Full breakdown

EXIM Bank

EXIM Islamic Investment (Credit) Card — VISA Platinum

45 days profit-free with Meet & Greet and priority service

Annual fee
Tk 5,000
Profit rate
25%
Minimum income
Not published
Structure
Murabahah
Reward points

Full breakdown

EXIM Bank

EXIM Islamic Investment (Credit) Card — VISA Signature

50 days profit-free plus year-round Balaka VIP Lounge access

Annual fee
Tk 8,000
Profit rate
25%
Minimum income
Not published
Structure
Murabahah
Reward points

Full breakdown

Global Islami Bank

GIB VISA Gold Dual

Annual fee
Tk 3,000
Profit rate
Not published
Minimum income
Not published
Structure
Not stated

Full breakdown

Global Islami Bank

GIB VISA Platinum

Annual fee
Tk 4,000
Profit rate
Not published
Minimum income
Not published
Structure
Not stated

Full breakdown

Islami Bank Bangladesh

Khidmah Gold Card

Discounts at 1,000+ brand outlets and up to 36 months 0% EMI

Annual fee
Tk 1,500
Profit rate
Not published
Minimum income
Tk 20,000 a month
Structure
Ujrah
Mixed rewards

Full breakdown

Islami Bank Bangladesh

Khidmah Mastercard World

The top of the Khidmah range, dual currency, limit up to Tk. 500,000

Annual fee
Tk 7,000
Profit rate
Not published
Minimum income
Not published
Structure
Ujrah
Mixed rewards

Full breakdown

Islami Bank Bangladesh

Khidmah Platinum Card

Balaka Lounge access, buy-one-get-free five-star buffets, and 36-month 0% EMI

Annual fee
Tk 3,000
Profit rate
Not published
Minimum income
Tk 70,000 a month
Structure
Ujrah
Mixed rewards

Full breakdown

Islami Bank Bangladesh

Khidmah Priority Platinum Card

Two Balaka Lounge visits a year on a Tk. 500,000 credit limit

Annual fee
Tk 4,000
Profit rate
Not published
Minimum income
Tk 100,000 a month
Structure
Ujrah
Mixed rewards

Full breakdown

Islami Bank Bangladesh

Khidmah VISA Signature Card

Annual fee
Tk 7,000
Profit rate
Not published
Minimum income
Not published
Structure
Ujrah
Mixed rewards

Full breakdown

Mutual Trust Bank (MTB Islamic)

MTB Islamic Ujrah Card — Visa Gold

MRewardz points, redeemable against the annual fee itself

Annual fee
Tk 3,000
Profit rate
Not published
Minimum income
Not published
Structure
Qard Hasan + Ujrah
Reward points

Full breakdown

Mutual Trust Bank (MTB Islamic)

MTB Islamic Ujrah Card — Visa Platinum

MRewardz points, redeemable against the annual fee itself

Annual fee
Tk 5,000
Profit rate
Not published
Minimum income
Not published
Structure
Qard Hasan + Ujrah
Reward points

Full breakdown

Mutual Trust Bank (MTB Islamic)

MTB Islamic Ujrah Card — Visa Signature

MRewardz points, redeemable against the annual fee itself

Annual fee
Tk 10,000
Profit rate
Not published
Minimum income
Not published
Structure
Qard Hasan + Ujrah
Reward points

Full breakdown

Prime Bank (Hasanah)

Visa Hasanah Gold Credit Card

Lower-tier Hasanah card with a 45-day profit-free window

Annual fee
Tk 2,500
Profit rate
Not published
Minimum income
Not published
Structure
Ujrah

Full breakdown

Prime Bank (Hasanah)

Visa Hasanah Platinum Credit Card

45-day profit-free window and 0% instalments up to 36 months

Annual fee
Tk 5,000
Profit rate
Not published
Minimum income
Not published
Structure
Ujrah

Full breakdown

Shahjalal Islami Bank

Click! Classic Card

Annual fee
Tk 1,000
Profit rate
24%
Minimum income
Not published
Structure
Wakalah
Mixed rewards

Full breakdown

Shahjalal Islami Bank

Click! Gold Card

Annual fee
Tk 2,000
Profit rate
24%
Minimum income
Not published
Structure
Wakalah
Mixed rewards

Full breakdown

Shahjalal Islami Bank

Click! Platinum Card

Free Balaka Lounge access with a guest, up to 8 visits a year

Annual fee
Tk 4,000
Profit rate
24%
Minimum income
Not published
Structure
Wakalah
Mixed rewards

Full breakdown

Social Islami Bank

SIBL Visa Islamic Credit Card (Dual)

Priority Pass for Platinum, Balaka VIP Lounge visits, and 0% instalments up to 24 months

Annual fee
Tk 1,200
Profit rate
2% /mo
Minimum income
Not published
Structure
Not stated
Mixed rewards

Full breakdown

Social Islami Bank

SIBL Visa Islamic Credit Card (Local)

Taka-only Shariah card with 0% instalments and a 51-day profit-free window

Annual fee
Not published
Profit rate
2% /mo
Minimum income
Not published
Structure
Not stated
Mixed rewards

Full breakdown

Southeast Bank (Southeast Tijarah)

Tijarah Islamic Mastercard World

Annual fee
Tk 6,500
Profit rate
Not published
Minimum income
Not published
Structure
Not stated

Full breakdown

Southeast Bank (Southeast Tijarah)

Tijarah Islamic Titanium

Annual fee
Tk 2,000
Profit rate
Not published
Minimum income
Not published
Structure
Not stated

Full breakdown

Southeast Bank (Southeast Tijarah)

Tijarah Islamic Visa Gold

MUKAFA for Sadakah — reward points routed to charity

Annual fee
Tk 2,000
Profit rate
Not published
Minimum income
Not published
Structure
Not stated
Reward points

Full breakdown

Southeast Bank (Southeast Tijarah)

Tijarah Islamic Visa Platinum

MUKAFA for Sadakah — reward points routed to charity

Annual fee
Tk 6,000
Profit rate
Not published
Minimum income
Not published
Structure
Not stated
Reward points

Full breakdown

Southeast Bank (Southeast Tijarah)

Tijarah Islamic Visa Signature

Annual fee
Tk 10,000
Profit rate
Not published
Minimum income
Not published
Structure
Not stated

Full breakdown

Standard Chartered Saadiq

Saadiq Visa Gold Credit Card

Annual fee
Tk 3,000
Profit rate
Not published
Minimum income
Not published
Structure
Ujrah

Full breakdown

Standard Chartered Saadiq

Saadiq Visa Platinum Credit Card

Free Priority Pass, 1,200+ lounges, and 1 point per BDT 50 spent

Annual fee
Tk 5,000
Profit rate
Not published
Minimum income
Not published
Structure
Ujrah
Reward points

Full breakdown

Standard Islami Bank

Tijarah Gold Card

Two complimentary worldwide lounge visits and Visa travel privileges

Annual fee
Tk 3,000
Profit rate
Not published
Minimum income
Not published
Structure
Not stated

Full breakdown

Standard Islami Bank

Tijarah Platinum Card

Complimentary Balaka Lounge plus four worldwide LoungeKey visits

Annual fee
Tk 3,500
Profit rate
Not published
Minimum income
Not published
Structure
Not stated

Full breakdown