Skip to content
Islamic Credit Cards

Gulf

Islamic credit cards in Oman

Every Shariah-compliant credit card we can verify from 7 issuers, with the contract behind each one and the fee schedule it came from.

Cards indexed

22

Issuers

7

With no annual fee

5

Currency

OMR

How the Omani market works

The market

22 Shariah-compliant consumer credit cards from 6 issuers were identified for this record (Bank Nizwa 5, Meethaq 4, Sohar Islamic 4, ahli islamic 4, Dhofar Islamic 3, Alizz Islamic Bank 2). A seventh Islamic institution, Muzn Islamic Banking (National Bank of Oman), offers NO credit card of any kind. Structurally Oman is an outlier in the GCC: not one Omani issuer uses Tawarruq for cards. Every issuer that names a structure uses Ujrah, Qard Hassan, or Qard Hassan with an Ujrah layered on for services — Dhofar Islamic and Meethaq both name the pair explicitly, Bank Nizwa names pure Qard Hassan, and Sohar Islamic and ahli islamic name Ujrah alone. Bai' al-Inah, permitted in Malaysia, appears nowhere in the Omani market. Commercially the market has settled on a fixed monthly fee in place of a profit rate, and no Omani Islamic card publishes a monthly or annual percentage profit rate at all. Fee levels are high in absolute terms: monthly fees run from OMR 6 (Bank Nizwa Standard) to OMR 120 (Sohar Islamic Infinite). Rewards are thin — only Dhofar Islamic (0.5-1.5% tiered), ahli islamic (up to 1% cashback plus Pearl Points) and Meethaq's Lulu co-brand (2% at Lulu Hypermarket) publish an earn rate; Bank Nizwa and Sohar Islamic publish none. The charity clause is universal: all six issuers direct late-payment charges to charity rather than booking them as income, and Dhofar Islamic extends it to the over-limit fee.

Who decides what is compliant

Two-tier. Each Licensee appoints its own Shari'a Supervisory Board (SSB) which oversees operations from a Shari'a compliance perspective and presents an annual Shari'a compliance report to the Board of Directors, assisted by a system of Shari'a Governance. The Islamic Banking Regulatory Framework (IBRF) sets this out at Title 2, cl.1.5.1.1. The IBRF also requires applicants to inform the Central Bank of the names, qualifications and experience of their SSB members as part of licensing (cl.3.12.1). Secondary sources additionally describe a High Shari'a Supervisory Authority at the Central Bank providing guidance on harmonisation of market practices — UNVERIFIED: no such body was located in the IBRF text or in the 2019 Regulation on Islamic Banking Business read for this record.

Rules that limit you

  • VERIFIED — Islamic banking may only be conducted by dedicated Islamic institutions or ring-fenced windows. IBRF Title 1, cl.1.1.1: 'These licensing rules and guidance apply to full-fledged domestic Islamic banks, Islamic banking branches, in Oman, of foreign banks and Islamic Windows of domestic conventional banks, all together called "Licensees"'. cl.1.1.2: 'Islamic Windows will take the form of a branch or cluster of branches.'
  • VERIFIED — the window must be genuinely ring-fenced. 2019 Regulation on Islamic Banking Business (BM/REG/56/4/2019): 'Islamic window: Islamic Window takes the form of a branch or cluster of branches, established by the conventional bank to provide Islamic banking independently of conventional banking business'; a conventional bank may undertake Islamic banking business through an Islamic Window 'provided that there is no comingling of funds with the conventional banking funds and business'. IBRF cl.3.11.2: 'Separate books of accounts shall be maintained for an Islamic Window.' IBRF cl.3.13.7: 'An Islamic Window shall only operate through separate Islamic banking-only branches and they shall be dedicated to offering Islamic products and services only.' IBRF cl.3.13.9: 'No Islamic products / services shall be offered through conventional branches.'
  • VERIFIED — AAOIFI Financial Accounting Standards are binding on all Licensees, with IFRS/IAS as the fallback where no AAOIFI standard exists (IBRF Title 1, cl.3.11.3).
  • VERIFIED — capital floors separate the two routes. 2019 Regulation Art.10: 'Licensee shall have and at all times maintain a paid-up capital of not less than RO 100 million to undertake Islamic banking business though Islamic Bank. Licensee shall have and at all times maintain assigned capital of not less than RO 10 million to undertake Islamic banking business though Islamic Window, and it shall not be calculated part of the minimum stipulated capital requirement of conventional bank. If the Licensee is a foreign bank, assigned capital will be not less than RO 20 million.'
  • UNVERIFIED — that conventional banks are FORBIDDEN from converting wholesale to Islamic banking. The word 'convert' appears in the 591-page IBRF only in unrelated risk-weighting and Sukuk contexts, and does not appear in a conversion-prohibition sense in the 2019 Regulation either. The window-only architecture is real and verified above, but a stated ban on wholesale conversion was NOT located in either primary text. Do not publish this claim as sourced.

The contracts Omani banks use

The contract is the whole difference between an Islamic card and a conventional one. These are the structures in use here.

Ujrah8Qard Hasan5Qard Hasan + Ujrah7

Where to start

Lowest published rate

ahli islamic

Al Shumookh Infinite Credit Card

Up to 1% cashback on card spend, plus Pearl Points on every spend

Annual fee
OMR 100
Profit rate
0% /mo
Minimum income
Not published
Structure
Ujrah
Mixed rewards

Full breakdown

No annual fee

Bank Nizwa

World Credit Card

Annual fee
No annual fee
Profit rate
0% /mo
Minimum income
OMR 300 a month
Structure
Qard Hasan

Full breakdown

Narrow it down

Each list applies one rule to every card on sale here and shows what passes. A filter, not a ranking.

How these lists are built

Every issuer in Oman

All 22 Islamic credit cards in Oman

ahli islamic

Al Shumookh Infinite Credit Card

Up to 1% cashback on card spend, plus Pearl Points on every spend

Annual fee
OMR 100
Profit rate
0% /mo
Minimum income
Not published
Structure
Ujrah
Mixed rewards

Full breakdown

ahli islamic

Al Shumookh Signature Credit Card

Up to 1% cashback on card spend, plus Pearl Points on every spend

Annual fee
OMR 75
Profit rate
0% /mo
Minimum income
OMR 3,500 a month
Structure
Ujrah
Mixed rewards

Full breakdown

ahli islamic

AlMajd Platinum Credit Card

Earn Pearl Points on every spend

Annual fee
OMR 50
Profit rate
0% /mo
Minimum income
OMR 1,000 a month
Structure
Ujrah
Reward points

Full breakdown

ahli islamic

Gold Credit Card

Earn Pearl Points on every spend

Annual fee
OMR 30
Profit rate
0% /mo
Minimum income
OMR 320 a month
Structure
Ujrah
Reward points

Full breakdown

Alizz Islamic Bank

Alizz ONE Platinum Visa Credit Card

Annual fee
OMR 34.65
Profit rate
0% /mo
Minimum income
Not published
Structure
Not stated

Full breakdown

Alizz Islamic Bank

Tharwa Infinite Visa Credit Card

Annual fee
OMR 105
Profit rate
0% /mo
Minimum income
Not published
Structure
Not stated

Full breakdown

Bank Nizwa

Gold Credit Card

Annual fee
OMR 30
Profit rate
0% /mo
Minimum income
OMR 300 a month
Structure
Qard Hasan

Full breakdown

Bank Nizwa

Platinum Credit Card

Annual fee
OMR 50
Profit rate
0% /mo
Minimum income
OMR 300 a month
Structure
Qard Hasan

Full breakdown

Bank Nizwa

Standard Credit Card

Annual fee
OMR 35
Profit rate
0% /mo
Minimum income
OMR 300 a month
Structure
Qard Hasan

Full breakdown

Bank Nizwa

Titanium Credit Card

Annual fee
OMR 35
Profit rate
0% /mo
Minimum income
OMR 300 a month
Structure
Qard Hasan

Full breakdown

Bank Nizwa

World Credit Card

Annual fee
No annual fee
Profit rate
0% /mo
Minimum income
OMR 300 a month
Structure
Qard Hasan

Full breakdown

Dhofar Islamic

Mastercard Gold Credit Card

0.75% value back on international purchases, 0.5% on purchases in Oman

Annual fee
OMR 20
Profit rate
0% /mo
Minimum income
OMR 250 a month
Structure
Qard Hasan + Ujrah
Cashback

Full breakdown

Dhofar Islamic

Mastercard Titanium Credit Card

1% value back on international purchases, 0.75% on purchases in Oman

Annual fee
OMR 30
Profit rate
0% /mo
Minimum income
OMR 700 a month
Structure
Qard Hasan + Ujrah
Cashback

Full breakdown

Dhofar Islamic

Mastercard World Credit Card

1.5% value back on international purchases, 1% on purchases in Oman

Annual fee
OMR 50
Profit rate
0% /mo
Minimum income
OMR 3,000 a month
Structure
Qard Hasan + Ujrah
Cashback

Full breakdown

Meethaq Islamic Banking

Meethaq Hafawa Visa Signature Credit Card

Premium dining discount and rewards programme at 75+ premium restaurants, with reward points equal to the discount

Annual fee
OMR 100
Profit rate
0% /mo
Minimum income
OMR 1,000 a month
Structure
Qard Hasan + Ujrah
Reward points

Full breakdown

Meethaq Islamic Banking

Meethaq Lulu Credit Card

2% reward points on Lulu Hypermarket spend in Oman, 0.5% on other local merchants

Annual fee
OMR 10
Profit rate
0% /mo
Minimum income
OMR 250 a month
Structure
Qard Hasan + Ujrah
Reward points

Full breakdown

Meethaq Islamic Banking

Meethaq VISA Gold Credit Card

Annual fee
OMR 10
Profit rate
0% /mo
Minimum income
OMR 250 a month
Structure
Qard Hasan + Ujrah

Full breakdown

Meethaq Islamic Banking

Meethaq VISA Platinum Credit Card

Annual fee
OMR 50
Profit rate
0% /mo
Minimum income
OMR 250 a month
Structure
Qard Hasan + Ujrah

Full breakdown

Sohar Islamic

Infinite Credit Card

Complimentary 5,000 reward points on joining, plus a loyalty programme on purchases

Annual fee
No annual fee
Profit rate
0% /mo
Minimum income
OMR 3,000 a month
Structure
Ujrah
Reward points

Full breakdown

Sohar Islamic

Signature Credit Card

Annual fee
No annual fee
Profit rate
0% /mo
Minimum income
OMR 1,300 a month
Structure
Ujrah

Full breakdown

Sohar Islamic

Visa Gold Credit Card

Annual fee
No annual fee
Profit rate
0% /mo
Minimum income
OMR 400 a month
Structure
Ujrah

Full breakdown

Sohar Islamic

Visa Platinum Credit Card

Annual fee
No annual fee
Profit rate
0% /mo
Minimum income
OMR 650 a month
Structure
Ujrah

Full breakdown