Skip to content
Islamic Credit Cards

Europe

Islamic credit cards in Türkiye

Every Shariah-compliant credit card we can verify from 7 issuers, with the contract behind each one and the fee schedule it came from.

Cards indexed

11

Issuers

7

With no annual fee

3

Currency

TRY

How the Turkish market works

The market

Six participation banks were examined and at least eleven consumer credit cards identified across five of them: Kuveyt Türk (Sağlam Kart, Sağlam Kart Kampüs, Miles&Smiles, Özel Bankacılık), Türkiye Finans (Happy Kart, Happy Zero), Albaraka Türk (Worldcard, Eflatun, Özel), Vakıf Katılım (VKart) and Türkiye Emlak Katılım (Paraf Kredi Kartı). Ziraat Katılım and Hayat Finans were NOT covered — see TR-banks.json. Turkish participation-bank cards sit fully inside the mainstream Turkish card infrastructure: they run on the same World, Bonus, Paraf and Troy programmes as conventional banks and offer the same merchant instalments. The market's most notable feature is the range of answers to the same question. At one extreme Türkiye Finans charges a tiered profit-share rate right at the national ceiling; at the other Türkiye Emlak Katılım publishes a profit rate of ZERO and simply forbids revolving — its minimum payment is 100% of the statement and it has no cash-advance facility at all.

Who decides what is compliant

Türkiye's Islamic banks are called KATILIM BANKALARI (participation banks) and their cards are marketed as FAİZSİZ KREDİ KARTI — interest-free credit cards. Shariah governance runs through two layers: each bank has its own Danışma Kurulu / Danışma Komitesi (advisory board), and the sector association TKBB (Türkiye Katılım Bankaları Birliği) operates a Merkezî Danışma Kurulu (Central Advisory Board) that issues binding sector standards. Banks report annually against these as 'Faizsiz Bankacılık İlke ve Standartları' — interest-free banking principles and standards; Albaraka Türk publishes a public disclosure under that exact title. CRITICAL DIFFERENCE FROM INDONESIA: Turkish participation banks generally do NOT name a classical Islamic contract (kafalah, ijarah, tawarruq, murabaha) for their credit cards. There is no Turkish equivalent of DSN-MUI Fatwa 54. Compliance is expressed instead through terminology and product design — a 'kâr payı' (profit share) rather than 'faiz' (interest), a 'gecikme cezası' (late penalty) rather than 'gecikme faizi' (late interest), and structural restrictions on cash.

Rules that limit you

  • ANSWER TO THE KEY QUESTION — YES, participation-bank cards are subject to the SAME national maximum credit-card rates as conventional cards, and they publish against the same schedule. Türkiye Emlak Katılım publishes tables headed 'Azami Gecikme Cezası Oranları' (maximum late-penalty rates) at monthly 3.55% / 4.05% / 4.55% and annual 42.60% / 48.60% / 54.60%, banded by period debt below TL 30,000, TL 30,000-180,000, and above TL 180,000, effective 01.01.2026, KKDF and BSMV excluded. Türkiye Finans publishes exactly the same bands and exactly the same late figures, plus an Akdi Kar Payı Oranı of 3.25% / 3.75% / 4.25% on the same bands. Two independent participation banks publishing byte-identical band boundaries and late rates on the same effective date is the signature of a regulatory ceiling, not of competition
  • The participation banks simply RELABEL the regulated quantities: 'azami akdi faiz oranı' becomes 'akdi kâr payı oranı' (contractual profit-share rate), and 'gecikme faizi' becomes 'gecikme cezası' (late penalty). The arithmetic is identical; the noun is not
  • CAVEAT ON THIS FINDING: TCMB's own published rate table could NOT be retrieved — its URL 404'd and the session's web-search budget was exhausted before an alternative route could be tried. The conclusion above is inferred from two banks' independently published, identical schedules, which is strong but is NOT the primary regulator source. Verify against TCMB before publishing the cap as a regulatory fact
  • ENFLASYON FARKI (inflation differential) — a genuinely distinctive participation-banking device. Türkiye Finans applies to cash advances, from the transaction date to the payment date, an inflation rate derived from TÜİK's most recently announced Consumer Price Index (TÜFE), capped so that it can never exceed the bank's own monthly akdi kâr payı rate. This preserves the real value of the cash advanced rather than charging a return on it — the participation-banking substitute for profit on a loan
  • INSTALMENT CASH ADVANCE IS PROHIBITED at Türkiye Finans on Shariah grounds: 'Katılım bankacılığı prensipleri gereği Happy Bonus kredi kartlarında taksitli nakit avans uygulaması bulunmamaktadır'

Where to start

Lowest published rate

Türkiye Emlak Katılım Bankası

Emlak Katılım Paraf Kredi Kartı

ParafPara points on instalment purchases at member merchants

Annual fee
Not published
Profit rate
0% /mo
Minimum income
Not published
Structure
Not stated
Reward points

Full breakdown

No annual fee

Kuveyt Türk Katılım Bankası

Sağlam Kart

Altın Puan — points denominated in gold

Annual fee
No annual fee
Profit rate
Not published
Minimum income
Not published
Structure
Not stated
Reward points

Full breakdown

Narrow it down

Each list applies one rule to every card on sale here and shows what passes. A filter, not a ranking.

How these lists are built

Every issuer in Türkiye

All 11 Islamic credit cards in Türkiye

Albaraka Türk Katılım Bankası

Albaraka Worldcard

World programme points

Annual fee
Not published
Profit rate
Not published
Minimum income
Not published
Structure
Not stated
Reward points

Full breakdown

Albaraka Türk Katılım Bankası

Eflatun Kredi Kartı

Annual fee
Not published
Profit rate
Not published
Minimum income
Not published
Structure
Not stated

Full breakdown

Albaraka Türk Katılım Bankası

Özel Kredi Kartı

Annual fee
Not published
Profit rate
Not published
Minimum income
Not published
Structure
Not stated

Full breakdown

Kuveyt Türk Katılım Bankası

Miles&Smiles Kuveyt Türk Kart

Turkish Airlines Miles&Smiles miles, plus six instalments with no price differential on purchases

Annual fee
Not published
Profit rate
Not published
Minimum income
Not published
Structure
Not stated
Air miles

Full breakdown

Kuveyt Türk Katılım Bankası

Özel Bankacılık Kredi Kartı

Annual fee
Not published
Profit rate
Not published
Minimum income
Not published
Structure
Not stated

Full breakdown

Kuveyt Türk Katılım Bankası

Sağlam Kart

Altın Puan — points denominated in gold

Annual fee
No annual fee
Profit rate
Not published
Minimum income
Not published
Structure
Not stated
Reward points

Full breakdown

Kuveyt Türk Katılım Bankası

Sağlam Kart Kampüs

No card fee, aimed at students

Annual fee
No annual fee
Profit rate
Not published
Minimum income
Not published
Structure
Not stated
Reward points

Full breakdown

Türkiye Emlak Katılım Bankası

Emlak Katılım Paraf Kredi Kartı

ParafPara points on instalment purchases at member merchants

Annual fee
Not published
Profit rate
0% /mo
Minimum income
Not published
Structure
Not stated
Reward points

Full breakdown

Türkiye Finans Katılım Bankası

Happy Kart (Happy Bonus)

Bonus programme points

Annual fee
Not published
Profit rate
3.25% /mo
Minimum income
Not published
Structure
Not stated
Reward points

Full breakdown

Türkiye Finans Katılım Bankası

Happy Zero Kart

No annual fee, with the same Bonus benefits as the rest of the Happy range

Annual fee
No annual fee
Profit rate
3.25% /mo
Minimum income
Not published
Structure
Not stated
Reward points

Full breakdown

Vakıf Katılım Bankası

VKart

Annual fee
Not published
Profit rate
Not published
Minimum income
Not published
Structure
Not stated

Full breakdown