Skip to content
Islamic Credit Cards

Standard Chartered Saadiq · Islamic window

Smart Saadiq Credit Card

Zero fees on the things that usually cost money, plus 360 Rewards points

MurabahahVisaother
Annual fee
AED 315
Profit rate
3.69%

a month on the outstanding balance

Minimum income
AED 8,000 a month
Rewards
Reward points

Read it from the source

What makes this card Islamic

Standard Chartered Saadiq builds this card on a Murabahah contract. The bank buys the thing you want, then sells it to you at a stated cost plus a stated profit, payable later.

Commodity Murabaha (tawarruq in substance). Per the UAE Internal Shariah Supervision Committee's own pronouncement: the bank buys commodities from Trader 1, sells them to the customer on deferred payment at a Murabaha price, the customer sells them on to a third-party purchaser, and the proceeds are held by the bank in an internal NON-PROFIT-BEARING account which the customer then draws on via the card. The bank 'may extend a discretionary discount on profit' based on factors such as balance transfer, payment behaviour or fixed payment plans.

Approved by Internal Shariah Supervision Committee (ISSC), UAE, under the supervision of Central Bank of the UAE.

What it costs

Every figure below comes from Standard Chartered Saadiq’s own published documents. Where the bank does not publish a number we say so rather than estimate it.

Annual fee
AED 315After the first year and every year thereafter, the annual fee is waived if you spend at least AED 2,000 in the previous 12 months.source
Supplementary card
AED 157.50Free for the first four supplementary cards; AED 157.50 from the 5th card onwards.source
Profit rate
3.69% a month on the outstanding balanceRetail 3.69% per month; cash 3.75% per month. Charged only on the revolved amount. The bank publishes no annualised equivalent.source
Cash withdrawal
No cash advance fee when the card is used at an ATM. Profit at the 3.75% monthly cash rate still applies from the transaction date.
Late payment
AED 0
Over limit
AED 0
Foreign currency spend
2.99% on top of the exchange rate
Replacement card
AED 150

What you get back

  • 360 Rewards points, redeemable for online shopping, e-vouchers, airline miles or hotel points
  • Purchase With Rewards: pay for a purchase directly with Rewards Points

The cap is the part that matters

Not stated on the pages read.

Other benefits

  • Zero late payment fee, zero over-limit fee, zero cash advance fee
  • Access to 1,000+ airport lounges: first visit each calendar year complimentary, then 7 further visits unlocked by a minimum international spend of USD 1 made 15 days before travel; USD 32 per visit if the spend condition is not met
  • Buy 1 Get 1 free tickets at VOX Cinemas (max 2 tickets per session) and Reel Cinemas
  • Multi-trip travel coverage for cardholder and family on trips up to 90 days
  • BookingBash Pro membership worth up to AED 499
  • 25% off YQ specialist airport assist services at 450+ destinations
  • Up to 20% off at 200+ airport restaurants with DragonPass
  • Visa Concierge, Buyers Protection, and Apple/Samsung/Google/Fitbit Pay

Before you apply

  • The zero-fee headline does not extend to the profit rate: 3.69% a month on revolved retail balances is at the expensive end of the UAE Islamic market.
  • Cash advances are exempt from the pay-in-full profit waiver — profit accrues on them from the transaction date.
  • Lounge access beyond the first free visit each year requires an international spend made 15 days before travel, or it costs USD 32 a visit.
  • The FAQ names a different set of scholars (Dr. Aznan Hasan, Sheikh Nizam Yaqubi, Dr. Mohamed Ali Elgari) from the five who actually signed the UAE ISSC pronouncement. See notes.

Can you get it?

Minimum income
AED 8,000 a monthsource
Age
21 and over
Other conditions
UAE resident aged 21 or above with a minimum monthly income of AED 8,000 or above. Salary-transfer requirement not stated on the pages read.

Where these figures come from

Last checked against Standard Chartered Saadiq’s published documents on 2026-08-17. Banks change fees without notice, so treat the bank’s own document as the final word, not this page.

  • “ISSC has reviewed the following documents relating to SCB's Islamic Credit Cards Product based on Commodity Murabaha structure: 1. Master Murabaha Terms and Conditions 2. Master Agency Terms and Conditions 3. Credit Card Terms and Conditions — ISSC Pronouncement, 5 December 2021”
  • “5. The proceeds will be kept by SCB in its internal non-profit bearing account and the Customer will be permitted to use the proceeds via credit card provided by SCB. — ISSC Pronouncement”
  • “6. The Bank may extend a discretionary discount on profit and offers on the credit card based on various factors such as Balance Transfer or payment behavior or fixed payment plans. — ISSC Pronouncement”
  • “ISSC hereby rules that the Islamic Credit Card offered by SCB - Saadiq is in accordance with the principles of Shariah and customers can take advantage of this facility, which relieves them from interest-based products. — ISSC Pronouncement”
  • “No Profit rate (excluding for Cash Advances) will be levied in case 100% payment is made on or before the payment due date. — Service and Price Guide, SAADIQ CREDIT CARDS, Please note”
  • “Foreign Transaction Charge Up to 2.99% of the transaction amount — Service and Price Guide, OTHER FEES AND CHARGES ACROSS SAADIQ CREDIT CARDS”
  • “Card Replacement Fee 150 — Service and Price Guide, OTHER FEES AND CHARGES ACROSS SAADIQ CREDIT CARDS”
  • “Payment due date from statement date 20 days — Service and Price Guide”
  • “Minimum amount due 1% of the principal balance plus all fees and charges (profit rate, late payment fees etc) or AED 110, whichever is higher — Service and Price Guide”
  • “Cash advance (% credit limit) (Limit decided at customer level) Up to 50% — Service and Price Guide”
  • “Annual fee for new customers AED 315 (first year free & after the first year and every year after that, your annual fee will be waived if you spend at least AED 2,000 in the previous 12 months.) — product page, Key Charges”
  • “Annual Fee for Supplementary card(s) Free (AED 157.50 from 5th card onwards) — product page, Key Charges”
  • “Profit Rate Retail 3.69% per month*** Profit Rate Cash 3.75% per month*** ***You will be charged profit rate on the revolved amount. — product page, Key Charges”
  • “Late Payment Fee AED 0 / Over Limit Fee AED 0 / Cash Advance Fee AED 0 — product page, Key Charges”
  • “Eligibility: UAE resident aged 21 or above, and with a minimum monthly income of AED 8,000 or above — https://www.sc.com/ae/credit-cards/, Smart Saadiq Credit Card tile”
  • “According to the 'Murabaha' concept, which means a trade transaction, you will only be charged a profit rate on the amount that you carry forward to next month. — product page FAQ”
  • “If you need to use your credit card at an ATM, you won't be charged with a cash advance fee. — product page”
  • “With multi-trip travel coverage, Saadiq Cardholders and their families are covered on all trips up to 90 days in duration. — product page”

What we could not verify

Standard Chartered Saadiq does not publish annual profit rate, maximum age, documents required, takaful cover, reward caps, terms and conditions for this card, so we have left those blank rather than guess. If you need one of them, ask the bank directly and hold them to the answer in writing.

Compare with other Emirati Islamic cards

Abu Dhabi Islamic Bank

Cashback Visa Covered Card

4% cashback across five everyday categories, capped at AED 1,000 a month in total

Annual fee
AED 99
Profit rate
3.75% /mo
Minimum income
AED 5,000 a month
Structure
Murabahah
Cashback

Full breakdown

Abu Dhabi Islamic Bank

Exceed Visa Covered Card

0.5 Exceed Rewards per AED 100 spent in the UAE, 1.0 internationally

Annual fee
AED 99
Profit rate
3.75% /mo
Minimum income
AED 5,000 a month
Structure
Murabahah
Reward points

Full breakdown

Ajman Bank

Roadmiles Premium Credit Card

Annual fee
AED 250
Profit rate
Not published
Minimum income
Not published
Structure
Qard Hasan + Ujrah
Air miles

Full breakdown