Skip to content
Islamic Credit Cards

Mashreq Al Islami · Islamic window

MAI Emirati Solitaire Credit Card

Up to 5 Mashreq Vantage points per AED on international spend, at the lowest profit rate in the range

Tawarruqother
Annual fee
Not published
Profit rate
29.4%

a year

Minimum income
Not published
Rewards
Reward points

What makes this card Islamic

Mashreq Al Islami builds this card on a Tawarruq contract. The bank sells you a commodity on credit at a marked-up price, you sell that commodity to somebody else for cash, and the cash becomes your spending limit.

Tawarruq (commodity Murabaha). The bank executes a commodity trade with the cardholder for the whole approved limit over a 10-year tenor, adding a buffer to the profit component to cover future limit and rate increases; the proceeds fund the card account. Profit is billed only on the limit actually utilised. Transactions at gambling, alcohol, club, pub and casino merchants are declined outright.

Approved by Internal Shari'ah Supervision Committee, under the supervision of Central Bank of the UAE.

What it costs

Every figure below comes from Mashreq Al Islami’s own published documents. Where the bank does not publish a number we say so rather than estimate it.

Annual fee
Not publishedThe Key Facts Sheet prices an 'Annual fee (primary) - recurring (VAT inclusive)' column across the three cards with the values 0, 682.50, 156.45, 0, 0. Because Platinum Elite and Cashback are both separately documented as free, AED 682.50 is almost certainly this card's primary fee and AED 156.45 its supplementary fee — but PDF column order is not recoverable from linear text extraction, so the figure has NOT been asserted here. Confirm against the live KFS table before publishing.
Profit rate
29.4% a yearMashreq Al Islami states its Tawarruq profit rate ANNUALLY, not monthly — it is the clearest exception found to the UAE convention of quoting a monthly rate. The Key Facts Sheet gives 'Retail Tawarruq profit rate' and 'Cash Tawarruq profit rate' as percentages per annum, marked 'VAT not applicable'. Cash rate for this card: 45% per annum. No monthly equivalent is published and none has been computed here.source
Cash withdrawal
Flat AED 105 when cash is withdrawn from an ATM using the credit card.
Late payment
AED 241.50
Over limit
AED 303.45
Foreign currency spend
2.89% on top of the exchange rate
Replacement card
AED 78.80
Takaful cover
Card Protect (Sukoon) takaful is offered; the KFS links separate Key Features and policy T&C documents. Premium not stated in the sources read.

What you get back

  • 5 Mashreq Vantage points per AED spent internationally in non-AED currency
  • 3 Mashreq Vantage points per AED spent on dining, including online orders and takeaways, and on supermarket shopping in AED
  • 1 Mashreq Vantage point per AED spent locally elsewhere
  • Effective 13 June 2026: 0.5 Mashreq Vantage points per AED spent on government payments, utilities, education, charity, fuel, rental and telecom

The cap is the part that matters

Not stated in the sources read.

Other benefits

  • Emirati-segment product, positioned as 'Your credit card & your values'

Before you apply

  • The cash Tawarruq profit rate is materially higher than the retail rate on this card.
  • This is the only Mashreq Al Islami consumer card that appears to carry a primary annual fee.
  • Profit waiver on full settlement is discretionary, not contractual.

Can you get it?

Other conditions
Cooling-off period of 5 complete business days from accepting the murabaha offer, per the CBUAE Consumer Protection Standards, is stated on the KFS. Salary-transfer requirement not stated in the sources read.

Where these figures come from

Last checked against Mashreq Al Islami’s published documents on 2026-08-17. Banks change fees without notice, so treat the bank’s own document as the final word, not this page.

  • “Mashreq Al Islami credit cards are structured on the Tawarruq model, which has been approved by the Internal Shari'ah Supervision Committee. — Key Facts Sheet, KFS_Cards_May 2026”
  • “It is governed by the Shari'ah concept of “TAWARRUQ”; Tawarruq is a financial transaction in which a customer purchases a commodity from a seller/bank on a deferred payment basis, and then sells the same commodity to a third party on a spot payment basis. — product page FAQ”
  • “If the customer makes full payment of the card outstanding on or before the due date, then the Bank may waive the profit for that month at its sole discretion, however if the customer chooses to pay the minimum outstanding, the Tawarruq Profit rate will be applied on the remaining balance. — product page FAQ”
  • “The Bank may waive any or all of the unpaid profit, agreed in the Total Sale Value, at it's sole discretion. — Key Facts Sheet”
  • “Pricing - The profit component will be calculated based on the agreed profit rate on the entire card limit and tenure agreed in the application form. — Key Facts Sheet”
  • “Tenure for Commodity Trades - The Bank will consider a tenor which is longer than the cards' actual maturity to avoid repeated trades, which is 10 years. — Key Facts Sheet”
  • “Buffer - The bank will add a buffer in the profit component to cover any credit limit and profit rate increases in future during the agreed tenor. This buffer will also be calculated on the entire card limit. — Key Facts Sheet”
  • “Late Payment Penalty (To charity): 241.50 Inclusive of VAT — Key Facts Sheet, Other Fees & Charges”
  • “Spread on international transactions in non-AED Currency: 2.89% (plus Visa/Mastercard charges as applicable) — Key Facts Sheet”
  • “Spread on international transactions in AED Currency: 2.89% — Key Facts Sheet (Dynamic Currency Conversion)”
  • “Card replacement fee: 78.80 — Key Facts Sheet”
  • “Cash Advance: 105 — Key Facts Sheet”
  • “Overlimit fee: 303.45 Inclusive of VAT — Key Facts Sheet”
  • “Since the Mashreq Al Islami ... Credit Card is based on Shari'ah principles, it cannot be used for transactions prohibited by “Islam” such as gambling, alcohol and transactions at clubs, Pubs and Casinos etc. Such transactions will not be considered and will be declined immediately. — product page FAQ”
  • “MAI Emirati Solitaire 29.4% per annum — Key Facts Sheet, Tawarruq Profit Rate table (retail)”
  • “Earn 5 Mashreq Vantage points per AED spent internationally in non-AED currency — Key Facts Sheet”
  • “Mashreq Al Islami Emirati Solitaire Credit Card Your credit card & your values — product page”

What we could not verify

Mashreq Al Islami does not publish network, annual fee, supplementary card fee, monthly profit rate, minimum income, minimum age, maximum age, documents required, reward caps, takaful cover for this card, so we have left those blank rather than guess. If you need one of them, ask the bank directly and hold them to the answer in writing.

Compare with other Emirati Islamic cards

Abu Dhabi Islamic Bank

Cashback Visa Covered Card

4% cashback across five everyday categories, capped at AED 1,000 a month in total

Annual fee
AED 99
Profit rate
3.75% /mo
Minimum income
AED 5,000 a month
Structure
Murabahah
Cashback

Full breakdown

Abu Dhabi Islamic Bank

Exceed Visa Covered Card

0.5 Exceed Rewards per AED 100 spent in the UAE, 1.0 internationally

Annual fee
AED 99
Profit rate
3.75% /mo
Minimum income
AED 5,000 a month
Structure
Murabahah
Reward points

Full breakdown

Ajman Bank

Roadmiles Premium Credit Card

Annual fee
AED 250
Profit rate
Not published
Minimum income
Not published
Structure
Qard Hasan + Ujrah
Air miles

Full breakdown