Skip to content
Islamic Credit Cards

Mashreq Al Islami · Islamic window

MAI Platinum Elite Credit Card

6 Mashreq Vantage points per AED of spend, with free worldwide lounge access

TawarruqNo annual feePlatinum
Annual fee
No annual fee
Profit rate
46.2%

a year

Minimum income
Not published
Rewards
Reward points

What makes this card Islamic

Mashreq Al Islami builds this card on a Tawarruq contract. The bank sells you a commodity on credit at a marked-up price, you sell that commodity to somebody else for cash, and the cash becomes your spending limit.

Tawarruq (commodity Murabaha). The bank executes a commodity trade with the cardholder for the whole approved limit over a 10-year tenor, adding a buffer to the profit component to cover future limit and rate increases; the proceeds fund the card account. Profit is billed only on the limit actually utilised. Transactions at gambling, alcohol, club, pub and casino merchants are declined outright.

Approved by Internal Shari'ah Supervision Committee, under the supervision of Central Bank of the UAE.

What it costs

Every figure below comes from Mashreq Al Islami’s own published documents. Where the bank does not publish a number we say so rather than estimate it.

Annual fee
No annual feeThe Key Facts Sheet marks MAI Platinum Elite 'Free for Life'.source
Profit rate
46.2% a yearMashreq Al Islami states its Tawarruq profit rate ANNUALLY, not monthly — it is the clearest exception found to the UAE convention of quoting a monthly rate. The Key Facts Sheet gives 'Retail Tawarruq profit rate' and 'Cash Tawarruq profit rate' as percentages per annum, marked 'VAT not applicable'. Cash rate for this card: 46.2% per annum. No monthly equivalent is published and none has been computed here.source
Cash withdrawal
Flat AED 105 when cash is withdrawn from an ATM using the credit card.
Late payment
AED 241.50
Over limit
AED 303.45
Foreign currency spend
2.89% on top of the exchange rate
Replacement card
AED 78.80
Takaful cover
Card Protect (Sukoon) takaful is offered; the KFS links separate Key Features and policy T&C documents. Premium not stated in the sources read.

What you get back

  • 6 Mashreq Vantage points per AED of spend

The cap is the part that matters

Not stated in the sources read.

Other benefits

  • Worldwide access to airport lounges at no charge
  • 50% discount at cinemas, airport transfers

Before you apply

  • Profit waiver on full settlement is discretionary, not contractual.
  • At 46.2% per annum the retail profit rate is the highest in the Mashreq Al Islami range.

Can you get it?

Other conditions
Cooling-off period of 5 complete business days from accepting the murabaha offer, per the CBUAE Consumer Protection Standards, is stated on the KFS. Salary-transfer requirement not stated in the sources read.

Where these figures come from

Last checked against Mashreq Al Islami’s published documents on 2026-08-17. Banks change fees without notice, so treat the bank’s own document as the final word, not this page.

  • “Mashreq Al Islami credit cards are structured on the Tawarruq model, which has been approved by the Internal Shari'ah Supervision Committee. — Key Facts Sheet, KFS_Cards_May 2026”
  • “It is governed by the Shari'ah concept of “TAWARRUQ”; Tawarruq is a financial transaction in which a customer purchases a commodity from a seller/bank on a deferred payment basis, and then sells the same commodity to a third party on a spot payment basis. — product page FAQ”
  • “If the customer makes full payment of the card outstanding on or before the due date, then the Bank may waive the profit for that month at its sole discretion, however if the customer chooses to pay the minimum outstanding, the Tawarruq Profit rate will be applied on the remaining balance. — product page FAQ”
  • “The Bank may waive any or all of the unpaid profit, agreed in the Total Sale Value, at it's sole discretion. — Key Facts Sheet”
  • “Pricing - The profit component will be calculated based on the agreed profit rate on the entire card limit and tenure agreed in the application form. — Key Facts Sheet”
  • “Tenure for Commodity Trades - The Bank will consider a tenor which is longer than the cards' actual maturity to avoid repeated trades, which is 10 years. — Key Facts Sheet”
  • “Buffer - The bank will add a buffer in the profit component to cover any credit limit and profit rate increases in future during the agreed tenor. This buffer will also be calculated on the entire card limit. — Key Facts Sheet”
  • “Late Payment Penalty (To charity): 241.50 Inclusive of VAT — Key Facts Sheet, Other Fees & Charges”
  • “Spread on international transactions in non-AED Currency: 2.89% (plus Visa/Mastercard charges as applicable) — Key Facts Sheet”
  • “Spread on international transactions in AED Currency: 2.89% — Key Facts Sheet (Dynamic Currency Conversion)”
  • “Card replacement fee: 78.80 — Key Facts Sheet”
  • “Cash Advance: 105 — Key Facts Sheet”
  • “Overlimit fee: 303.45 Inclusive of VAT — Key Facts Sheet”
  • “Since the Mashreq Al Islami ... Credit Card is based on Shari'ah principles, it cannot be used for transactions prohibited by “Islam” such as gambling, alcohol and transactions at clubs, Pubs and Casinos etc. Such transactions will not be considered and will be declined immediately. — product page FAQ”
  • “MAI Platinum Elite Free for Life — Key Facts Sheet, Loyalty, Benefits & Pricing”
  • “MAI Platinum Elite 6 Mashreq Vantage points per AED of spend — Key Facts Sheet”
  • “Platinum Elite Credit Card Worldwide access to airport lounges and all for free! — product page”
  • “Salaam Rewards program is now Mashreq Vantage — Key Facts Sheet”

What we could not verify

Mashreq Al Islami does not publish network, supplementary card fee, monthly profit rate, minimum income, minimum age, maximum age, documents required, reward caps, takaful cover for this card, so we have left those blank rather than guess. If you need one of them, ask the bank directly and hold them to the answer in writing.

Compare with other Emirati Islamic cards

aafaq Islamic Finance

Aafaq Platinum Credit Card

AED 250 welcome bonus, 2% AIF Rewards on international spend, free for life

Annual fee
No annual fee
Profit rate
3.99% /mo
Minimum income
AED 8,000 a month
Structure
Murabahah
Mixed rewards

Full breakdown

Abu Dhabi Islamic Bank

Etihad Guest Visa Platinum Card

Up to 3 Etihad Guest Miles per AED 4 spent, plus a 50,000-mile welcome bonus

Annual fee
AED 2,000
Profit rate
3.75% /mo
Minimum income
AED 5,000 a month
Structure
Murabahah
Air miles

Full breakdown

Abu Dhabi Islamic Bank

Exceed Visa Platinum Covered Card

0.5 Exceed Rewards per AED 100 in the UAE, 1.5 internationally, plus 2 lounge visits a year

Annual fee
AED 199
Profit rate
3.75% /mo
Minimum income
AED 5,000 a month
Structure
Murabahah
Reward points

Full breakdown