Skip to content
Islamic Credit Cards

DND Finance

Score Mastercard

No rewards. The product's benefit is credit-file building.

Mastercardother
Annual fee
Not published
Profit rate
Not published
Minimum income
Not published
Rewards
None

Read it from the source

What makes this card Islamic

The bank does not name the contract

We could not find DND Finance stating which Shariah contract this card is built on. That is not the same as saying the card is non-compliant, but it does mean you cannot check the reasoning for yourself. Ask the bank which structure it uses, and for its Shariah board’s approval, before you apply.

Approved by Shariah Experts (external certifier, London), under the supervision of Financial Conduct Authority. The firm's own site footer states 'D&D Leasing is authorised and regulated by the Financial Conduct Authority (FCA)' and gives Firm Reference Number 695458 for D&D Leasing UK LTD; the card is issued by PayrNet Ltd, stated as an FCA-authorised Electronic Money Institution under the Electronic Money Regulations 2011, Firm Reference Number 900594. NOT independently checked against the FCA register during this research..

What it costs

Every figure below comes from DND Finance’s own published documents. Where the bank does not publish a number we say so rather than estimate it.

Annual fee
Not publishedNo annual fee is charged; the ongoing cost is a monthly subscription of GBP 19.99 (see fees.monthly_subscription). Set to null rather than 0 because the issuer does not state an annual fee of zero.
Profit rate
Not publishedThere is no profit rate and no interest rate. The issuer states a Purchase Rate of 0% and 'NO INTEREST charged. Ever.' The 29.99% Representative APR shown on the site is composed ENTIRELY of fees, not interest — see fees.representative_apr_pct and quotes[].
Cash withdrawal
Not published
Late payment
Issuer states no late-payment interest of any kind is charged. A late-payment FEE is not disclosed on the pages read; left null.Issuer states no late-payment interest of any kind is charged. A late-payment FEE is not disclosed on the pages read; left null.
Foreign currency spend
2.99% on top of the exchange rate

What you get back

Other benefits

  • Reports repayment behaviour to UK credit reference agencies, building a credit file — the actual purpose of the product
  • 0% purchase rate; issuer commits that no interest is charged on purchases or outstanding balances at any time
  • Personal and business card variants
  • Usable anywhere Mastercard credit cards are accepted

Before you apply

  • It is a SECURED card: you must pre-fund a deposit equal to the entire credit limit. No net credit is actually extended to you — you are spending against your own ring-fenced money, so this is closer to a credit-reporting prepaid facility than to a credit card in the ordinary sense.
  • The cost is high in cash terms. On a GBP 1,200 limit, year one costs GBP 120 (access fee) + GBP 239.88 (12 x GBP 19.99) = GBP 359.88, against GBP 0 for a mainstream UK card repaid in full each month.
  • The issuer must advertise 29.99% Representative APR by law even though it charges no interest, which makes honest comparison against conventional cards very difficult for consumers.
  • The Shariah certification is by a private advisory firm (Shariah Experts); no certificate document was locatable on the issuer's own site during this research.
  • Not issued by an Islamic bank. Credit is provided by D&D Leasing UK Ltd, a conventional lender, and the card is issued by PayrNet Ltd under Mastercard licence.

Can you get it?

Other conditions
Marketed at people with poor or no UK credit history — 'anyone with less than perfect credit, newcomers, and entrepreneurs'. Because the card is fully secured by a customer deposit, conventional affordability/credit-score gatekeeping is largely displaced. Specific income or age thresholds are not published on the pages read.

Where these figures come from

Last checked against DND Finance’s published documents on 2026-08-17. Banks change fees without notice, so treat the bank’s own document as the final word, not this page.

  • “The Score Mastercard is a secured credit card that is designed to help you build or rebuild your credit. It works just like a regular credit card. But similar to a prepaid card, it requires a pre-funded deposit that acts as security equal to your approved credit limit. — scorebydnd.com/faq, Q on what the card is”
  • “Score Mastercard has been certified and approved by Shariah Experts, who reviewed all aspects of the Score Mastercard by DND Finance. This included reviewing its fee-based structure, and understanding how APR applies to the Score Mastercard. All credit cards will have an APR as required by UK regulations. While the Score Mastercard has an APR, it does not charge interest on purchases. — scorebydnd.com/faq, Q13”
  • “Shariah compliant means simply that a product or service is complying with Islamic Law. That means for a finance product like a credit card they have to comply with the Shariah rules as mentioned by AAOIFI (2017), Shariah Standard No. (2): Debit Card, Charge Card and Credit Card — scorebydnd.com/faq, Q12”
  • “APR is calculated using a specific set of rules as set out by the Financial Conduct Authority. This states that all credit card companies must assume that a customer is taking out a £1,200 credit card. At that point all fees, dues and subscription costs are included in the APR calculation. In the case of the Score Mastercard, this means that we include the one time credit access fee as it applies to £1,200 in credit of £120 gbp plus the monthly subscription of £19.99 a month and the interest rate of 0.00%. Taken together this calculates to 29.99% for the personal card. — scorebydnd.com/faq, Q26”
  • “The Score Mastercard by DND does not charge interest on purchases or outstanding balances on the Score Mastercard. Ever. This is our promise to you. However, for personal cards, we do charge a one-time credit access fee of 10%, which is calculated on your desired credit limit. This means that if you choose a £1,200 GBP credit limit, your required transfer will be £1,200 (for your credit limit) + (£120) for DND's one-time Credit Access Fee, for a total of £1,320. — scorebydnd.com/faq, Q27”
  • “Representative Example: Amount of Credit: £1,200. Interest Rate: Representative (variable) 29.99% APR. Purchase Rate: 0%. One-Time Credit Access Fee: £120. Monthly Fee: £19.99. Terms and conditions apply. — scorebydnd.com homepage”
  • “Yes, you can use your card anywhere that Mastercard® credit cards are accepted, however a 2.99% foreign exchange fee will apply. — scorebydnd.com/faq”
  • “Credit is provided by D&D Leasing UK Ltd. Score is a brand of D&D Leasing UK Ltd. T/A DND Finance and it is a company registered in England and Wales with registered number 06638748. ... The Card is issued by PayrNet ltd pursuant to licence by Mastercard International Inc. — scorebydnd.com footer”
  • “The APR calculation includes all fees and interest which make up the cost of borrowing over a year. In the case of the Score Mastercard, there is NO INTEREST charged. Ever. However, there are fees, therefore the APR is above 0.00%. — scorebydnd.com/faq, Q29”

What we could not verify

DND Finance does not publish shariah contract, shariah certificate, annual fee, supplementary card fee, late payment fee, over-limit fee, cash withdrawal fee, replacement card fee, minimum income, minimum age, maximum age, documents required, terms and conditions, takaful cover for this card, so we have left those blank rather than guess. If you need one of them, ask the bank directly and hold them to the answer in writing.